Feb 20, 2019

Gyaankosh Current Affairs for February 2019 – Set 2

Posted by Genesis Mentors | Leave a reply

Siddhartha Lal, CEO and MD of Eicher Motors has been named EY Entrepreneur of the Year award for 2018. He brought back the motorcycle brand Royal Enfield in India. Azim Premji is awarded Lifetime Achievement award for his contribution in information technology. Sanjay Subrahmanyan, Indian historian, has won the Dan David Prize of Israel for the year 2019. He is been awarded for his work on inter-cultural encounters between Asians, Europeans, North Americans and South Americans during the early modern era. Father Francois Laborde, 92 years old Bengal Priest, is awarded with the Legion d’Honneur, the highest civilan award of France. This award is given for his work for specially-abled children in Howrah. Essar Oil UK, part of Essar group, has acquired British Petroleum’s stake in the terminal assets and the pipeline connected to Stanlow… more

Feb 14, 2019

Gyaankosh Current Affairs for February 2019 – Set 1

Posted by Genesis Mentors | Leave a reply

Hindi has been added as third official language by Abu Dhabi Judicial Department to be used in the city’s courts. This is aimed to help foreigners to learn about procedures, their rights and duties. India is now the second largest consumer and importer of the LPG in the world. This is due to government initiatives to push for alternatives to traditional cooking fuels such as firewood and cow dung. The number of active LPG consumers in India has increased annually at a rate (CAGR) of 15 per cent – from 14.8 crore in 2014-15 to 22.4 crore in 2017-18. The import of LPG grew by 12.5 percent over the past five years to 12 million metric tons in 2018-19. India now stands at number two in importing LPG surpassing Japan. The Ministry of Statistics and… more

Feb 13, 2019

Gyaankosh – Citizenship (Amendment) Bill

Posted by Genesis Mentors | Leave a reply

Citizenship (Amendment) Bill   What exactly is the Citizenship (Amendment) Bill? The Citizenship (Amendment) Bill was passed in the lower house of the Parliament in March 2015 by NDA government.   The bill seeks to remove disparity between persons of Indian origin (PIO) and overseas citizens of India (OCI) cardholders as laid down in the Citizenship Act of 1955.   Such individuals will not be liable for a class of rights conferred only on citizens of India. For example, constitutional rights such as equality of opportunity in matters of employment, appointment as judge of the Supreme Court or high courts will not be extended.   The central government will be also be liable for cancelling the registration in case of any false or fraud representation.   The bill was also introduced with the idea of… more

Feb 12, 2019

Gyaankosh Current Affairs for January 2019 – Set 3

Posted by Genesis Mentors | Leave a reply

Padma awards for 2019 were announced by Government. This year 112 recipients have been selected for the award – 4 Padma Vibuhshan, 14 Padma Bhushan and 94 Padma Shri awards. The recipients include Gautam Gambhir (cricketer), Prabhu Deva (Indian choreographer), Kader Khan (veteran film actor), Kuldip Nayar (veteran journalist) and Sunil Chetri (football) among others. Teejanbai, famous for Pandavani, is one of the awardee for Padma Vibhushan. Bachendri Pal is one of awardee of Padma Bhushan among others. Kumbh 2019 - the world’s largest religious congregation began at Prayagraj, UP on 15th Jan 2019. This 7 week event will go on till 4th March 2019. According to an estimate, the city will have footfall of 15 crore during the event. The event will have six Shahi Snan - on Makar Sankranti (15th Jan), Paush Purnima… more

Feb 10, 2019

Gyaankosh – Current Affairs for January 2019 – Set 2

Posted by Genesis Mentors | Leave a reply

The 15th edition of Pravasi Bhartiya Divas was held in Varanasi in Uttar Pradesh. The 3 day event was organised in Varanasi for the first time. The theme this year is, 'Role of Indian Diaspora in building New India'.  Several world leaders of Indian origin, including the Chief Guest Mr. Pravind Kumar Jugnauth, Prime Minister of Mauritius, took part in the event and share their insights on the theme. Virat Kohli Takes 3 Major Honours of ICC 2018 awards. He has become the first player in history to win the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Cricketer of the Year, the ICC Men’s Test Player of the Year and the ICC ODI Player of the Year awards following an extraordinary year 2018. The International Cricket Council also announced the men’s Test and ODI teams of… more

error: Content is protected !!